Summer Time

The weather has been quite good since we arrived in Australia. My grandmother’s house is at the end of a canal and if you open the front & back doors, a lovely breeze floats through the whole house. Today though, it seems like it might actually be the start of summer. It’s quite still and quite warm, and I think a trip to the beach might be in store.  After I go and have a stitch removed from my foot. I had a mole cut off between my big toe and second toe on my left foot, not the most comfortable place for a stitch, but it’s been in a week and can come out today.

Today is the start of Mike’s second week at his, and so far it seems to be going well. It’s a smaller shop than the one he worked for in Atlanta with only 8 or 9 guys, and he seems to know more than most of the people there. Which I think is a good thing. By the end of last week the guys all figured out he was the guy to go to with questions.

I, however, am still searching for a job. And how exactly do you go about getting hired when you’re 10 weeks pregnant? Do you tell them that? Do you wait and see if they ask a question that would garner telling them? As an employer I know how I would feel finding out a new hire was already into her second trimester, which is where I’ll be at the rate I’m getting interviews (read: 5 applications 1 interview so far). I wouldn’t be too happy about having to find someone to fill in during maternity leave. And while I’d like to work a couple or a few days a week after the baby comes, I don’t really want to work full time. I’d like to have time at home to be a mum. So I don’t know what to do at this stage. I’m currently looking for Christmas holiday work, at least that would be a little bit of money and would just be a month or so of work. A 6 month contract gig would be perfect, but we’ll see.

Anyway, now I go get this stitch removed then I think it’s time for the beach or the pool.

Leave a Reply

