Carmax Shmarmax

One of our final things to do is to get rid of my car. Without going into too much detail, I owe more than it is worth, but I knew that and am prepared to pay extra on it. We figured since it is a 2004 Honda Accord with all the bells and whistles, that we’d get a decent offer from Carmax. Boy we were so wrong. I’m glad we went today to find out how much they’d give us, because we now have a few weeks to try and sell it ourselves, but what a pain in the ass! Basically, Carmax wanted to give me $10,000 and I’ve found several similar cars online (autotrader.com, Craig’s List, etc.) ranging anywhere from $13,000 to $19,900. So I’ve listed it on Craig’s List for $16,900, hoping that price will attract some buyers. Keep your fingers crossed for me. Carmax would have been able to turn around and put it on the lot for $17,000 and make quite a nice little profit. Makes you really wonder how great a deal their “no haggle” prices are. Have I ever mentioned how much I hate the auto industry?

Leave a Reply

