Comfort Zones

Some people have comfort zones the size of Texas, mine is more the size of a zip code, or a small town. In 7 years I have definitely settled into my little zone quite comfortably. I like the luxuries of home – getting in my car and going whenever I want, a hot shower every morning, money to buy food, a nice big comfortable bed to sleep in every night, friends and a certain level of privacy. I am confident in finding my way around, communicating with people and existing.

This trip to Europe has nothing but uncertainty and that makes me nervous.  I think that’s why I’m not super-duper excited about the trip just yet. We don’t have any reservations for any hotels or trains or anything and flying by the seat of my pants is not my strong suit. We have enough problems trying to decide what to have for dinner each night let alone deciding what cities we want to visit or what sites to visit in those cities.

I read Kim’s blog about being in south east Asia on a 3 day trek with no showers or restrooms and I don’t know how she, or anyone else does it.

Maybe this trip and moving back to Australia will help me to be less inhibited. I don’t understand how I went from being someone who could leave home at 18 and move to the other side of the world and go to school and make new friends to being so unsure about myself.

One thought on “Comfort Zones

  1. “I don’t understand how I went from being someone who could leave home at 18 and move to the other side of the world and go to school and make new friends to being so unsure about myself.”

    I was wondering something very similar, myself, the other day.

    What about making SOME plans? Then, you can fly by the seat of your pants AND find some stability/reassurance.

Leave a Reply

