Atlanta

There are many things I will, and one big thing I won’t, miss about Atlanta. From Y! news this morning:

NEW YORK (Reuters) – The Los Angeles metropolitan area led the nation in traffic jams in 2005, with rush-hour drivers spending an extra 72 hours a year on average stuck in traffic, according to a study released on Tuesday. The metropolitan areas of San Francisco-0akland, Washington, D.C.-Virginia-Maryland, and Atlanta were tied for the second most gridlocked areas.

TRAFFIC! I will most definitely NOT miss that. You know, taking 30 minutes to go 3 miles (sometimes less!) is so infruiating. But it’s not even the traffic jams that annoy me the most, its the people who can’t drive. I’ve never in my life seen so many people who realize they’re in the wrong lane and they just STOP instead of continuing on, doing a u-turn and going back the right way. I am convinced no one learns how to merge when learning to drive in this country, if in fact they do learn to drive. I often wonder if they just buy their licenses or find them on the back of their wheaties box. And if it is or has been raining? Forget about getting anywhere you need to be on time or within a reasonable amount of time.

I will miss our friends. I will miss my tennis teams and playing tennis every weekend. I will miss the Atlanta Thrashers! I will miss shopping at Kohls (seriously!), TJ Maxx and Marshalls. I will miss all the wonderful places to go and eat dinner. I will miss my highspeed internet and cable TV. I will miss my lovely Honda Accord. But mostly I will miss our friends. Australia is just too far away! Can’t we do something to move it and put it up here near the US? There’s plenty of space in the Atlantic Ocean!

Leave a Reply

