Responsibilities

As adults, many of us often feel the burden of responsibility. Whether it is our jobs, our mortgage payments, our pets, our children, balancing our check books or keeping up with friends, life and everything in it gets overwhelming and tiring.

In two weeks, we will have zero responsibility. Well, not ZERO zero, but all we’ll have to worry about is Mike’s school loans and getting back to Atlanta in time for our November 10th flight to Honolulu. No mortgage, rent, car payments, bills, jobs…it is an amazing feeling. My goal is to learn how to relax again. I feel like the last couple of years have sent me into a permanent state ofย “worry”. I worry and constantly think about everything, as we saw in this post. I want to be able to spend the next few months just relaxing and enjoying life. I told Mike last night I’m sick of, and emotionally exhausted from, constantly worrying about things or being scared of things. What am I scared of? Flying, for one thing. And we’ll be doing a lot of that here very soon.

Another goal of mine is to learn enough about my camera that I can take some VERY cool pictures in Europe. I’ve been practicing around the apartment complex and the river that our apartments back on to. You can see some of the stuff on my flickr page here. Our camera, a Canon Powershot S3 iS is pretty amazing for only $400 or whatever we paid for it. It has some great manual features or can be used as an automatic point-and-shoot also. I’d like to be able to use my own photography to decorate our walls when we finally get a place in Australia. It’s also proving to be very calming for me. I like looking at things and imagining them in black and white or sepia or in a series on a wall. Last night Mike learned how to take several shots and use the stitch feature to combine them all into a panoramic shot. I can’t wait to try that in Europe!

Next Friday we head up to Detroit. We’re driving up and flying back. The flying starts! We also fly from Atlanta to London. Rome to Atlanta. Atlanta to Phoenix to Honolulu. Honolulu to Sydney to the Gold Coast. 7 flights…I have to stop talking about it now because its making my palms sweat!

2 thoughts on “Responsibilities

  1. You really have an eye for composition. ๐Ÿ™‚ I look forward to seeing pics from Europe!

    Take each flight one at a time. Baby steps and all seems much more manageable. *hugs*

  2. Thanks! I feel like I still have lots to learn, but I love it! I look forward to TAKING pics of Europe ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a dream last night that I was at the doctor asking for sleeping pills…must be a sign of things to come ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

